FU History – Future University


Dr. Abubaker Mustafa- The Future University, Sudan

Computer Man Center was established by Dr. Abubaker Mustafa Khair in Khartoum II offering them Certificates for short courses which included: Introduction to Computer, WordPerfect, Database and Lotus.

These certificates were awarded in collaboration with a British institution (NCC); thus, providing extension service in ICT to the community for the first time in Sudan


The birth of Computer Man College (CMC) was in Amarat St. 51 as an outcome of the Higher Education Conference which encouraged private sector to venture in higher education. The College then, offered B.Sc (Hons) Information Technology (the 1st in African Region), B.Sc (Hons) Computer Science and B.Sc (Hons) Computer Engineering (the 1st in Sudan). CMC was the first institution to use and implement computerized registration system. The existing CMC campus was the result of the transfer of the premises to the current location at Wad Medani Street

1997 - 2002

CMC had the first batch of graduates for the 3 bachelor programs of the intakes of 1991. The B.Sc (Hons) Architecture and B.Sc (Hons) Telecommunication and Space Technology were approved and launched. CMC was recognized as Center of Excellence in ICT and UNESCO invited the College Director to visit the Headquarters in Paris. The first International Computer Driving License (ICDL) Center in Sudan and the African Region was in operation in the college.



Several linkage programs with Multimedia University (Malaysia), Limkokwing University (Malaysia), Linkoping University in Sweden, UNITAR University(Malaysia) Nettuno University (Italy), University of Brasillia (Brazil), California Institute of Technology (USA), Boston University andnother were established. The College started a Staff Development Program by sending 48 teaching assistants to some international Universities in Asia and Europe to study for M.Sc. and Ph.D. programs, while others were sent to National Universities within Sudan for the same purpose.


Madam Cousteau visited the Future University (Formerly Computer Man College)

click here

  The Ahmed Zewail, Linus Pauling Chair professor of chemistry, Chemistry Nobel Laureate visited Computer Man.

2005 - 2008

The first UNESCO Chair in a private University in (Ecotechnie Chair) was instituted in the college. Future Univercity, Sudan
The first UNESCO Chair in a private University in(Ecotechnie Chair) was instituted in the college.
  • Four Diplomas were approved, namely: Diploma in Telecommunication Engineering, Diploma in IT, Business & Accounting, Diploma in IT Website Design, and Diploma in IT e-Commerce.
  • Three Bachelors degree programs were approved, namely: B.Sc (Hons) Electronic Engineering, B.Sc (Hons) Geoinformatics and B.Sc (Hons) Creative Multimedia

Dr. Farouq Elbaz visited future university

Dr. Farouq Elbaz visited the Future University (Formerly Computer Man).


Two specialized Bachelor’s degree programs were approved and launched by the College, namely:
  • BSc (Hons) Knowledge Engineering and
  • BSc (Hons) Knowledge Management.
CMC International Forum started by inviting high-ranking scholars of stature and Nobel Prize laureate to deliver talks on their areas of competence.


FU Festival 2011 -The Future University, Sudan

The University Act was passed and approved by the Parliament and signed by the President of the Republic promoting the College to a full-fledged University with the name “The Future University”.

2011 - 2012

The Ministry of Higher Education approved additional Bachelor’s degree programs, namely:

  • BSc (Hons) Graphics Design, BSc (Hons) Interior Design
  • BSc (Hons) Biomedical Engineering,
  • BSc (Hons) Mechatronics Engineering and
  • BSc(Hons) Renewable Energy Engineering

are now operational in the college.

The Ministry of Higher Education approved the launching of the University Postgraduate programs, namely:

  • MSc Data Networks and Telecommunications,
  • MSc Computer Engineering and
  • MSc Architectural Landscape


New Memorandum of Understanding with several universities were signed:
  • Petra University, Jordan;
  • John Hopkins University;
  • University of TURIN, Italy;
  • Infrastructure University of Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia;
  • Kyoto University, Japan; Universita de Venezia (IUAV), Italy;
  • Sofia University, Bulgaria;


The Ministry of Higher Education approved additional Postgraduate programmes in

  • architectural management,
  • telecommunication management and
  • engineering management.

New Memoranda of Understanding with several universities were signed:

  • University of Juba;
  • Chungnum National University, Korea;
  • Addis Ababa University, Ethiopia;
  • Universitas Indonesia, Paramadina University, TRISAKTI,
  • Bandung University, Al-Shafiya University, Indonesia and
  • University de Vigo, Spain.